Quotes: Education

So, I’ve decided to start a new series since I seem to have run out of ideas after I finished the A to Z Challenge. I’m also running low on ideas for Appreciate the Little Things. And of course, the Weekly Photo Challenge is only one post a week. Now that I’m done linking you to every other post, I’ll continue with this one. This should be pretty self-explanatory, but I’ll help you out. I’m going to post a quote, then explain what it means to me. I’ll try to have a variety of topics, but feel free to suggest some quotes or topics. Comment if you must. Okay, I’m done begging for attention. Here’s the first quote.

“Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.” ~John Dewey

This quote goes along with the belief that one never actually stops learning. Even though you aren’t in school, or taking classes or purposely trying to learn something, doesn’t mean that you aren’t learning anymore. A lot of people think that going to school is “Preparing” you for the real world, and after you finish school you stop learning, or “preparing.” But the truth is: you never stop learning. Personally, I’ve found that the times when I’m not learning anything, are the times when I’m incredibly bored. In order to reduce the amount of time I spend allowing my brain to idle, I make sure I always have something to work on. It could be reading, playing an instrument, doing an art project, researching something, playing with a pet, learning a new skill, or tons of other things. You don’t have to have your head buried in a textbook or be taking a test to be learning. Living your life is learning. Be alive. Go learn something.

)O(

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

