Attention Do-Gooders!

Okay, I know it was just the other day that I said I was going to be taking a break from blogging, but if you remember correctly, I also said that if I came across something that I felt the need to blog about, I would do so.

Anyway, I have come from the world of taking a break to inform you of a wonderful website that allows YOU to help those in impoverished areas of the world. This website, Kiva.org, is a micro-finance organization.

For those of you who don’t know what micro-finance is, I shall explain. Micro-finance is a small loan to someone who needs a tiny amount of money in order to start a business. Generally, this happens in the less developed countries of the world. An example? When I was in high school, we watched a video about micro-finance. I don’t remember what the video was called or who it was made by. I tell you this because I want you to know that I didn’t make up this example, and also to give credit, though very little, to said unknown video. Anyway, There was a woman, I don’t remember where she lived, maybe south-east Asia, or maybe South America? Anywho, she wanted to start a business that would supply her community with phones so that they could contact people outside of their little town. But in order to start this business, she needed a small amount of cash. I think it was something like $200. Now,  you may say that $200 is not a very small amount of cash. But, it is, when you consider how much money is usually involved in a regular loan. Say, college loans.

For more details about micro-finance, and/or a better explanation with cute pictures, watch this:

 

So, basically, what Kiva does is allows you to make a loan of at least $25, to be repaid by the new business owner. There is a 98% repay rate, so nothing to worry about there.

Now, how do you get involved in helping pull these people out of poverty? Here are ten easy steps.

Step one. Visit Kiva.org.

Step two. Register for an account.

Step three. Click the “Lend” tab at the top of the screen. I mean, you can click around the website a little and see what its all about, if you want.

Step four. Choose a borrower. You can sort through by country, gender, type of business, etc. When you find one that you like, move on to the next step.

Step five. Click lend $25. Its pretty easy. You can also donate to more than one business.

Step six. Click on “My Basket” at the top of the screen, or “Checkout” where the “Lend $25” button was.

Step seven. Choose the amount of money you would like to lend. There is a minimum of $25, but you can, of course, lend more.

Step eight. Click continue, and follow the steps.

Step nine. Feel good about helping people in less developed nations.

Step ten. Spread the word.

Kiva Logo

Okay, so now that you’ve helped someone, and feel good about yourself, you may go on with your day. I will see you when I find more treasure to share!

)O(

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

