Letter

Noun Challenge: July 26, 2014

Today’s noun: Letter

Let’s talk about letters. Not the kind that make up words, but the kind that are made up of words. Why does no one write them anymore? I understand that texting and emailing are both faster and easier, but I like snail mail. I don’t know about you guys, but I like getting letters in the mail. Packages are fun too. Currently, the only time I get mail is when I have to order textbooks for school, or when I get the bill for my tuition… That’s no fun.

When I do write letters to friends, and they write back, we often run into the problem of having nothing to write about. It’s pretty clear that this is because we communicate through texting, or facebook, or twitter.

I think it would be fun, and you can do this too, to have a friend that you only communicate with through handwritten letters. You can type if your handwriting is terrible. But don’t call or text them. If you really want to, set facebook and twitter to not show you their posts. You can do this for any amount of time. Say, the summer. Or maybe, since summer will be over for many people my age in a few weeks, do it for the school year, or maybe just a semester. Of course, make this friend someone that you won’t need to contact with any urgency.

If you do this, and truly have no other contact with your friend, it will be a fun surprise in your mail box, and you’ll actually have something to write about.

Just a fun idea to do with a friend!

Have a delightful day, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

)O(

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

