On a Kick

Noun Challenge: July 29, 2014

Today’s noun: Kick

What does it mean to be on a kick? To be really focused on an idea, or activity. You most often hear people say they are on a health kick, or a workout kick. It could be referring to trying something new to see how you like it, or just something you’ve been interested in for the last few weeks.

But is it good for you? Is it bad? Does it have any effect at all? I don’t know. I guess it depends on what kind of kick you’re on. I suppose a health kick is good for you, but if you’ve recently been into hard drugs, well, I’d say that’s not as good for you. As for less extreme kicks, such as new hobbies or skills, well, I think those aren’t necessarily good or bad for you. Those are the in-between kicks. It might not be something that you continue with in the long run, but maybe you gained something from it.

I think everything is somewhere between good and bad. Even if you do get into hard drugs, you probably learned something from the experience. I don;t have any examples for you because I’ve never experimented with drugs. But I still feel that if you do go on a heroin kick, its not 100% bad. sure its a pretty “bad” drug, and it’s a pretty hard habit to “kick”, but as long as you can take something away from it, it wasn’t completely bad. Does that make sense? Please don’t start using heroin to “take something away” just because I’m talking about it.

It also works the other way. If you go on a health kick, sure, you’re eating healthy, but that doesn’t mean its 100% good. If you become too obsessed with eating healthy, you’ll miss out on eating sweets. no one wants to have dessert after a meal if someone else is avoiding dessert. First, you feel guilty for possibly tempting this person with your dessert, and you might also feel like maybe you shouldn’t be eating that dessert either.

Those are pretty extreme, and maybe a bit of a stretch, but you get the point. If you are on a kick, don’t focus too much on it. Don’t let it take over your life. I know that most of the time that doesn’t happen, but sometimes it happens without you noticing.

Okay, basically what I’m saying is don’t allow your hobbies to isolate you and ruin everything.

I didn’t know exactly where I was going with this post when I started, so thanks for sticking around while I figured it out.

As always, have a kickin’ day (See what I did there?), and I’ll see you tomorrow!

)O(

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

