Appreciate the Little Things [Part 9]

So, I’ve been slacking on these. I’ve been slacking on blogging as a whole. I figured this would be a fun way to get back into things. Find parts 1-8 here.

Let’s get started.

  • YouTube ads. I don’t know if you watch YouTube, but I watch it all the time. The most annoying thing is the ads. To be fair, I understand why they are there and all of that. I don’t really mind watching the ads either, but when the ads takes fifteen minutes to load, I start to get annoyed. I’ve also encountered entire music videos as ads before. And there was no skip button. Unless there is a skip button, the ads should be limited to thirty seconds. I would also like a variety in the advertisements. If I’m watching a playlist, or just a bunch of videos, I don’t want to watch the same ad between every video. Of course, the easiest solution is to download adblock, but then the creators don’t make any money, and that doesn’t seem fair. I just want to hold onto my sanity while watching YouTube.
  • Gum Chewers. First of all, gum kind of grosses me out. You’ve been chewing on that piece for who knows how long, and there’s who knows how much bacteria in that, and ew. But honestly, I don’t care if you want to chew it. I just don’t want to see it, or hear it. Keep your mouth closed while you chew on it. This topic was touched on in part 8 with noisy eaters. It’s really not that difficult to close your mouth while you’re chewing. But that’s not the only thing that annoys me about gum chewers. I haven’t encountered this as much recently, but I always seemed to be surrounded by gum addicts. They’d hear someone open a pack of gum and suddenly, they were trying to become that persons friend in exchange for a piece. Is gum really that great? And if it is, why don’t you buy your own pack? What do they cost? $0.89? I guess I’d rather people be addicted to gum than meth.
  • Slow walkers. I typically walk pretty quickly, but I understand wanting to go a little slower, for whatever reason. Just don’t walk in the middle of the sidewalk. On days when I’m tired in the morning, or I’m sore from whatever, and I want to go slower, I try to walk on the edge of the sidewalk, leaving room for others to pass. But every time I want to walk quickly, because I’m running late, or meeting someone, I seem to get stuck behind some group of guys, whose pants are around their knees, preventing them from moving faster than a turtle. And they tend to take up the entire sidewalk.  Like, move! I don’t mean to sound rude, and I understand that sometimes people can’t move faster, but try to be considerate of those around you!
  • Rude smokers. If you smoke, please be considerate. I don’t really care if you want to destroy your respiratory system, but please don’t destroy mine. That twenty-five feet rule is in place for a reason. People don’t want to walk through a cloud of toxins to get into a building. Please do not stand near an entrance. Walking and smoking is also rude. Do you realize that when you blow out that smoke, it goes right into the face of the person behind you? What if they have asthma, or are allergic to cigarette smoke? you could cause serious problems for them. I’m not going to sit here and tell you that cigarettes are bad for you, and blah, blah, blah, but do you realize that you are giving a considerable chunk of your income to a company whose product causes cancer? That’s pretty dumb.
  • Packaging. You know exactly what I’m talking about. It’s excessive. Why it is necessary to package air fresheners in vacuum sealed, indestructible plastic? I was trying to open a pack of razor head replacements recently and it took me a good twenty minutes with a pair of scissors to actually get to the product. Why? WHY? And how many times have you been trying to open something and ended up hurting yourself trying to break through the packaging? I’m convinced that a lot of things would survive an atomic bomb with all the packaging. Just earlier today I was trying to break down an empty box to put in recycling and the amount of glue used to hold the bottom of the box together would have been sufficient for an entire kindergarten classes’ art projects. Why is that necessary?

That’s all for now! There will be more in the future!

)O(

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

