Daily Prompt: The Heat is On

Do you thrive under pressure or crumble at the thought of it? Does your best stuff surface as the deadline approaches or do you need to iterate, day after day to achieve something you’re proud of? Tell us how you work best.

To answer the first question, yes. I both thrive and crumble. But how, you ask, is that possible? Well, I crumble when I realize that my deadline is coming up, but then I pull myself together at the last minute. I tell myself that I can do this, and I will. Then I do.

I have tried to do things in advance, and somethings I usually do actually complete long before the deadline. Things that don’t require much thought, like filling out forms, setting up for an event, are usually done with plenty of time to spare, but when it comes to writing a paper, or blog post, that usually gets done at the last minute. I seem to write better when I’m trying to get it done quickly. If I have too much time, I allow myself to get distracted, and nothing makes any sense. If I’m running on a time limit, I’ll write non-stop until I finish; and everything makes sense.

This post? Being written at 10 pm, the day its supposed to be posted. It may be hastily put together, but it makes sense.

I think one big, and often over-looked advantage of writing at the last minute is that you have the most amount of time to think about what you’re going to say before you actually put all of your thoughts down. This post, however didn’t require the gathering of many thoughts, thus, I can’t use that excuse.

The real reason for my procrastination is that I was having a lazy day today and forgot that I have to post. Oops. But I’m not afraid to admit that. Daily blogging is hard for someone who doesn’t blog regularly.

Bear with me. We’re off to a good start on this challenge. We will make it to the end together!

)O(

For the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt

Part of the Daily Blogging Challenge July 2015

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

