Daily Prompt: Well, I Never…

Tell us about something you’ve done that you would advise a friend never to do.

Procrastinate. To be more specific, procrastinate big things. To put off doing the dishes is one thing, but when it come to things that take a lot of work, planning, or scheduling, don’t put it off.

I don’t have my license. I’m almost twenty-one years old, and I can’t drive. I know that I’m still young and blah, blah, blah, but driving is a critical ability in adult life.

I always thought that driving would be something that I would want to do as soon as possible, but it turned out to be the opposite. I don’t like driving. I never have. I was content riding the bus to high school. And I always went places with friends who didn’t mind driving me around. I didn’t need to drive.

But now I do. I need to be able to get to and from work on my own, so I’ve had to cram learning how to drive into this summer. I’ve run into one problem after another, and it’s very stressful.

I didn’t have a reason to put it off this long. Yes, in high school I was busy and didn’t have a lot of time to practice driving, but had I had the motivation, and the desire to drive, I could have. But I procrastinated, and it’s only cause problems that could have been avoided.

So, like I said, putting off doing the dishes for a day won’t cause any large amount of stress, unless you’re a “neat freak” (no shade, I can’t stand disorganization), but don’t put off things that take time. Driving, getting a degree, planning your vacation. These things should be done before you are in dire need of them.

Don’t wait until the last minute to do these things, you’ll regret it.

)O(

For the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt

Part of the Daily Blogging Challenge

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Well, I Never…

  1. lifelessons says:

    I was a terrible procrastinator in college. Now all I put off is going to sleep and cleaning off my desk! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/07/24/the-beautiful-children-of-mexico/

  2. As a graduate student, I have procrastination down to an art! Every deadline seems to be a test to see how far I can go before crashing and burning! Haha.

    Anyway, I love what I’ve seen of your blog so far. I’m following it and look forward to future posts. If you want to check out/follow mine, it’s http://www.marsgonemad.com

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

