Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner!

You’ve just won $1 billion dollars in the local lottery. You do not have to pay tax on your winnings. How will you spend the money?

This seems to be asked as if it were some philosophical question. But it’s not. Not really.

What does it say about humans today that these are the questions that stump us, or make us spend time thinking of the best answer?

I’ve always told myself, and anyone who asks me this question, that I’d pay off any bills, pay off my parents’ bills, make sure that I, and my family are living comfortably, maybe put some into my bank account, and then donate the rest to worthy charities.

But is that what I’d really do? I can say that now, and have a clean conscience, but who’s to say that I don’t spend the whole lot on stuff I don’t need? Honestly, I probably wouldn’t. I’d probably spend it on things that I need, and donate the rest. I’ve never been one to splurge.

But why do we always assume that we have to spend the money? Why can’t we just put it in the bank for when it’s needed? Why can’t we save it? Why do we have to go out and buy a big house and a fancy car?

What does that say about us?

)O(

For the Daily Post’s Daily Prompt

Part of the Daily Blogging Challenge

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

