Graduation… Again

I graduated yesterday. It’s still technically yesterday as I type this. Last time I started a post like this, I was graduating high school, and I started off talking about how I didn’t feel any different, and how I was happy to be done and not have to spend any more time with the people in my class. This time it’s a little different. I don’t feel the same as I did before the ceremony. And I will miss seeing everyone everyday.

Aside from being slightly more educated than I was when I started college, I’ve changed as a person. If you’ve followed my ramblings throughout my time in college, you’ve probably noticed it. I’m much more mature now, though I’m sure I still have a ways to go. I think it’s difficult to gauge your own maturity, but you can definitely notice the difference over time.

Unlike my high school graduation, after this graduation, I knew I wouldn’t be seeing most of those people nearly as often as I had for the last four years, and I was sad about it. Most adults, at least that I’ve talked to, will say that high school will definitely NOT be the best time of your life. Sure, it comes with slightly more freedom than younger years, and slightly less responsibility than older years, but it’s certainly not the best time.

When I think about my time in high school, I remember, first of all, being tired. Then I remember having to sit still and be talked at for seven hours. I also remember being watched over, and doors being guarded, feeling like I was in a prison. Now, I don’t want to sound too negative. I do have some good memories from high school. Most of those are the ones with friends during co-curricular and extracurricular activities; outside of school. I don’t remember having too much fun in the classroom though.

Thinking about college, though, is a whole different picture. The only negative memories I have of college are the few classes with boring lecturers, and, of course, the dreadful 8 AM classes. But many of my professors in college treated us like adults, and, more importantly, as equals. This allowed for thoughtful, engaging discussion, and plenty of joking around. Class becomes much more interesting when the professor can draw penises on the board* knowing that the class can laugh and move on.

The experiences and friendships that I’ve made  during the past four years will stick with me for a long time. I can confidently say that four years of college have taught me more, academically, mentally, and emotionally, than my twelve years of education before. Being on a college campus provides exposure to so many different people and opportunities. I have learned so much about people from other states, and even countries. I even learned about differences from people who live twenty minutes away from me. It’s definitely been a lesson in diversity and multiculturalism. This exposure, and the interactions that follow are what have helped me grow as a person.

When I think back on my college years, I hope to remember all of the knowledge that my professors have given me. But more than that, I hope I remember all of the wonderful experiences I had. Most importantly, I hope I make many more great memories during my time in graduate school, and beyond!

)O(

*We were talking about stereotypes of poverty, and STDs came up. My professor did not randomly draw a penis on the board.

P.S. Now, I graduated the day before yesterday.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

