Sympathy for Kim

You’ve likely heard about Kim Kardashian being robbed in France. If not, she was robbed at gunpoint and robbed of about 10 million dollars worth of jewelry. I’ve had a lot of mixed feelings about this; some of which I am not proud of.

My first reaction was an eye roll. Here we go, giving her more attention. I’m not a fan of the concept of celebrity, and the Kardashians seem to be the personification of that concept. It seems like we can’t go a day without hearing about their latest hairstyle. Generally speaking, I ignore their news.

My next reaction was, well, she’s still a person, and still vulnerable to a bullet. I’ve never been robbed, so I can only imagine how terrifying it must be. Celebrities are still people who experience human emotions, just like the rest of us.

The next thought was, well, why does she even have 10 million dollars worth of jewelry with her in France?Also, why does she have 10 million dollars worth of jewelry at all? How disgusting. There are millions of people who would like to have just 1% of that in their bank account, and here she is with 100% of that just in jewelry, and for what?

Then I thought, well, she’s still a person, who has experienced a scary ordeal that would terrify anyone. She has feelings too.

Next I thought why was she posting pictures of her over priced ring, with a disgustingly large stone on instagram? She’s showing of the value that she’s currently carrying with her. She made herself a target. That was pretty dumb.

And finally, I thought but she’s still a person. She still has feelings. Sure, she has so much more than most people and I’m not convinced that she’s aware of her privilege, but she is still a person.

I may be disgusted by her wealth and lifestyle, but that doesn’t mean she deserves to be robbed at gunpoint. That doesn’t mean that she shouldn’t be allowed to walk around, flashing her 10 million dollars worth of jewelry.

There is some discussion that this whole thing was an inside deal. Even if it was, I think we can all learn from it. We can learn that celebrities, although (some are) filthy rich, are still people, with feelings, who should be allowed to walk around without the fear of being jumped and robbed. They are still people who deserve to walk around without a wall of body guards. Even the ones we don’t really like. Even the Kardashians.

)O(

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

